Skip to content
Home » Informative » What Are The Tennis Levels? Know All About NTRP, UTR, ITF, and ATP (WTA)

What Are The Tennis Levels? Know All About NTRP, UTR, ITF, and ATP (WTA)

What Are The Tennis Levels? Know All About NTRP, UTR, ITF, and ATP (WTA)

When a baby is born, they first, they learn to crawl, then walk, and finally learn how to run. This is a process that every baby follows. In the same way, players or teams have to start from a low level and then climb their way to higher levels. Every sport follows this rule, including tennis. But what are the tennis levels? How many tennis levels are there? What do they work? Yes, it may seem to be a bit confusing, but once given time, it becomes much more manageable. We are here with all the explanations to make it easier everywhere. So keep on reading the article until the very last to become a pro about tennis levels

What Are The Tennis Levels?

Tennis Levels are a form of ranking the players based on how well they play. A player will be rated higher if they are good at the game. On the other hand, if a player is just starting his or her career, they will have a much lower rank and have to climb the levels with hard work. Some exceptions exist when experienced players cannot climb higher levels because they lose most matches. The vice versa can happen also. For example – if a youngster defeats all of his opponents, their ranking will reach higher levels much faster. Simply put, rankings are based on the players’ performance during a specific period.

How Many Tennis Levels Are There?

There are a total of four levels of tennis – NTRP, UTR, ITF, and ATP. Each one of the levels has its unique ways of ranking the people. NTRP is the level where a new player starts his career, while ATP is the highest form of professional tennis that one can reach. We will explain it in a bit.

It is also important to know about the tennis scoring system besides tennis levels. To know more about the tennis scoring system, click on the link – How Does Tennis Scoring System Work? – A Complete Guide


NTRP is a system of rating tennis players after their performance throughout a season. It rates the player and sets a standard at which the player should play. The best part is that players can rate themselves in the initial stage. But if they think they will lower their rate to face weaker players and score more wins, the USTA will interfere and annul their results. One of the unique features of NTRP is that as the rating increases, it jumps by 0.5 points. So the ratings go something like this:-

  1. 1.0 refers to the players who are just starting to play tennis
  2. 1.5 refers to the players who are working on their ball movement
  3. 2.0 refers to the players who require on-court experience.
  4. 2.5 refers to the players who are qualified enough to take part in low-level tournaments and league matches.
  5. 3.0 refers to the players who are consistent but need to improve in certain conditions.
  6. 3.5 refers to the players lacking variety, but their strokes are dependable.
  7. 4.0 is the same as 3.5, with a bit more variety.
  8. 4.5 refers to the players with a solid serve whose pace and spin are to the point.
  9. 5.0 refers to the players with their unique moves and can read the game.
  10. 5.5 refers to the consistent players who can use pace and, more importantly, keep calm under pressure.
  11. 6.0 refers to the players who are top college players and trained to the utmost point.
  12. 6.5-7.0 refers to world-class players.

This is the senior ranking of NTRP. The junior rankings are also the same but rise to 0.1 and star at 2.0 instead of 1.0.


The complete form of UTR is Universal Tennis Rating. The UTR is a system that considers the most recent results of a player in a weighted average and then accordingly rates them. College recruiters mainly use the UTR system to pick out the best prospects among the whole lot. That is the reason why most college students try to improve their UTR. Due to the growing popularity of UTR, events similar to the “Progress Tour” are taking place in more numbers. Both males and females take part in these to increase their UTR.

Moreover, unlike ATP and WTA, UTR does not rate males and females differently. Both genders are assessed under a single scale. The algorithm follows a pattern when the rating starts from 1 and ends at 16.50. Novak Djokovic is currently the highest-rated player according to UTR, with 16.25.


ITF and ATP are the highest levels a professional tennis player can reach. At this level, ratings are based on the number of matches won at professional tournaments. Winning at these professional tournaments will give them points, increasing their ratings. The ITF World Tennis Tour is the first level of professional tournaments for both males and females. There is not much difference between ITF and ATP, but the ITF is more lenient in awarding points than the ATP.

ITF rankings are a way to enter the ATP. Progressing in the ITF tournaments and becoming the highest rank holders get at entry at the ATP’s lower-level tournaments. For men, it is the ATP or Association of Tennis Professionals; for women, it is WTA or Women’s Tennis Association. First comes the ATP and WTA Challenger Tour. Winning and picking up points will help the players participate in high-level tournaments during the ATP and WTA Tour and, most importantly, the Grand Slam tournaments.

Methods To Improve The Tennis Level

Before improving the tennis level, it is crucial to know at which level that player is. They can play a tournament or get another person’s opinion. The most common way to improve the tennis level is to win as much as possible. Winning enough matches will grant an entry to the next level. In this, a player can reach the highest level. Hard work is the key to success, so practicing and training more will show results.

To win matches, proper training is required. For that, we are providing the link to a few of the best tennis academies in Florida. Click on the link to learn everything – Top 7 Best Tennis Academies In Florida in 2023

FAQs on Tennis Levels

Q: What Are The Tennis Levels?

Ans: Tennis Levels are a form of ranking the players based on how well they play.

Q: How Many Tennis Levels Are There?

Ans: There are four tennis levels – NTRP, UTR, ITF, and ATP (WTA).

Q: Who is the highest-ranked player according to ATP?

Ans: As of April 2023, Novak Djokovic is the world no.1 in professional tennis according to ATP.

Read More – Top 10 Tennis Quotes Of All Time

Do follow us on Facebook | Instagram | Twitter  | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂