Tennis is a game which is played and enjoyed worldwide by many people. Moreover, this game consists of many rules and regulations which are not easily understood. Due to these rules, there is an interruption between the game, one of the reason for interruption is LET. Many times, we saw the umpire or the player to call a let. So, what is LET? Where does this term come from? In this article you will get to know about LET’s Definition, History and FAQ.
LET is a word which is derived from the Saxon word lettian which means Hindrance. There are many different situations in which let can happen in tennis. A Let is a situation that mostly happens when a player is serving. Also, in a service Let that specific serve is not counted and the player has to serve again. this can happen in different situations like:
- If the ball that is served touches the net, strap or band and lands up in the right service court
- If the ball after touching the net touches the receiver or receiver’s partner or anything they were wearing before landing on the court’s ground
- If the ball is served when the receiver or opponent is not ready
In addition, if a let is called then a whole point will be replayed except in one situation that is if a let is called on a second service.
Let is a situation in tennis in which a player has to play a whole point again. Moreover, this word’s origin is from either Old Saxon or England or both. So, the let word comes from Old Saxon word “Lettian” which means to stop something from its occurrence or to “hinder”. Also, there is one more possibility that this word is derived from French word “Filet” which means net.
Also read: What are the 3 Types of Tennis Courts?
FAQ about LET
Q: How many Lets can be allowed in Tennis?
Ans: There is no limit to the number of Lets in the game. The player can serve as much lets until the player hits a serve or a fault.
Q: Which player has the maximum numbers of Lets in Tennis history?
Ans: In 2013, Serena William won 4 consecutives Lets in a row by defeating Ayumi Morita. Also, in 2017 the Chinese player Di Wu also attain the same number of Lets in a tournament in China.
Q: Is let and net the same in Tennis?
Ans: In tennis if a player or umpire calls a net, then it means he is calling out a let.
Q: Who can call a let?
Ans: Any player who is on the court playing can call a let, in both singles and doubles match.
Q: Does Let consider as a fault?
Ans: If a ball served by a player touches the net and lands in the right service part, then it is considered as a fault.
Q: What happens if a Let is called?
Ans: If a let is called then a whole point will be replayed except in one situation that is if a let is called on a second service.
Also read: 3 Best Tennis Games on PS4 and PS5 (2023)